The Network

The Paul Ehrlich MedChem Euro-PhD Network

The Paul Ehrlich MedChem Euro-PhD Network was established in November 2009 in Palermo, Italy as a collaboration among several European universities with the aim of fostering the education and research training of post-graduate students in Medicinal Chemistry towards PhD Degree. Membership is open to all European universities, provided they accept the “Rules and Conditions for Awarding the Paul Ehrlich European PhD in Medicinal Chemistry Label to PhD Graduates in Medicinal Chemistry'' as set out in this document and sign the accession letter. Industrial partners may participate as corporate members. Non-European academic institutions may join the network as associate members.

Word Map

1)Alcalá University. 2) Aldo Moro University. 3) Aristotle University. 4) Brno University. 5) Cagliari University. 6) Catania University. 7) Charles University. 8) Comenius University. 9) Complutense University. 10) Federico II University. 11) Genova University. 12) Ghent University. 13) Granada University. 14) Helsinki University. 15) Jagiellonian University. 16) Lisboa University. 17) Ljubljana University. 18) Lodz University of Technology. 19) Magna Graecia di Catanzaro University. 20) Messina University. 21) Milan University. 22) Modena & Reggio Emilia University. 23) National and Kapodistrian University. 24) Palermo University. 25) Perugia University. 26) Phillipps University. 27) Pisa University. 28) Porto University. 29) Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms University. 30) San Pablo CEU University. 31) Semmelweis University. 32) Siena University. 33) Silesia University. 34) Sussex University. 35) Szeged University. 36) Vienna University. 37) Vienna  Technical University.  38) Belgrade University. 39) Strasbourg University. 40) Salerno University. 41) Santiago de Compostela University. 42) Medical University of Lublin. 43) Heinrich Heine University. 44) Friedrich-Schiller University. 45) Padova University .46) Cork University College. 47) Danylo Halytsky Lviv National Medical University. 48) Oslo University. 49) Ramon Llull University. 50) UiT The Arctic University.

From 2009 onwards, the network has grown, as it is possible to see in the figure 1, with members spreading all over Europe. At the moment, the network is composed by 45 institutions from 16 countries. In the figure 2 it is possible to see that Italy is contributing with 15 institutions while, at a big distance, Spain has 5 universities, and Germany and Poland with 4. After that, most countries have one or two universities integrated in the network.




Aim of the Paul Ehrlich MedChem Euro-PhD Network

The aim of the Paul Ehrlich MedChem Euro-PhD Network is to provide an in-depth research training and mobility of PhD students in the area of Medicinal Chemistry at European level. The Paul Ehrlich MedChem Euro-PhD certificate testifies that the student has (i) undertaken international research training and (ii) has completed and published a piece of research at an internationally competitive level. The Paul Ehrlich MedChem Euro-PhD certificate is complementary to the local PhD degree obtained from the student’s home university, is in no way in collision with national regulations and represents an added-value to a national PhD degree.



The Paul Ehrlich MedChem Euro-PhD Network is coordinated by a Network Coordinator who is a professor involved in a PhD programme in medicinal chemistry at his/her university which is called a Coordinating University.

The Network Coordinator and the coordinating university are elected for a period of three years in a Paul Ehrlich MedChem Euro-PhD Network meeting.

The Network Coordinator is elected among coordinators of member institutions

A five membered Board is elected among coordinators of member institutions for a period of three years. The main task of the Board is the development of strategies for sustainable development and function of the Network.

As a rule the President of the Organizing Committee of a Network Meeting, becomes the sixth member of the Board until the next meeting.

The last board was elected in the 5th Meeting of the P Ehrlich Network in Krakow, and will be operative from 2016 to 2018, the present members are:

  Julio Álvarez-Builla   Julio Álvarez-Builla, University of Alcalá, Madrid, Spain (Coordinator)  
  Stefano Alcaro   Stefano Alcaro, University Magna Graecia di Catanzaro, Italy  
  Norbert Haider   Norbert Haider, University of Vienna, Austria  
  Danijel Kikelj   Danijel Kikelj, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia  
  Peter Matyus   Peter Matyus, Semmelweis University, Budapest,  
  Serge Van Calemberg   Serge Van Calemberg, Ghent University, Belgium  
  Jarmila Vinšová   Jarmila Vinšová, University of Prague, Czech Republic  

Financial Issues

Each member institution takes part in Paul Ehrlich MedChem Euro-PhD Network with its own resources. The costs of the research activities will be covered by the institution where such activities take place. The resources to cover costs for elaboration of Paul Ehrlich MedChem Euro-PhD certificates will be provided by the Network coordinator. The Network Coordinator will perform his/her service on a voluntary basis.

The Paul Ehrlich MedChem Euro-PhD Network meetings will be financed by registration fees paid by the participants. Each Paul Ehrlich MedChem Euro-PhD Network member institution will provide support to PhD students to mobilize financial resources from national and European mobility funds. The website will be secured by the Network Coordinator. The Paul Ehrlich MedChem Euro-PhD Network will apply for financial support to student mobility from European mobility funds.